Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI v Moseley on Sat 04 May 2013 at 12 Noon
Leamington Cricket Club Won By 47 runs

Match report Leamington 1st XI made it two in two with a comprehensive 47 run win over a strong Moseley side.

Having lost the toss and been asked to bat first on a dry wicket, Leamington got off to the perfect start as Shahbaz Alam blitzed three fours off Warwickshire professional, Recardo Gordon's, opening over of the match. This very much set the tone for the opening exchanges as Alam, alongside 15 year old Jack Bewick - who was opening the batting for the first time - batted very aggressively to take Leamington to 67 before the miserly Watts (3-23) replaced the very erratic Gordon and quickly removed Bewick for an excellent and very promising 25, including six boundaries. When rain came, Leamington were in a very commanding position on 97-1 off 13 overs as Alam had continued to punish the bad ball and take advantage of the new free hit rule. On resumption, Watts and former Leamington player Awan (2-35), set about applying some pressure on Leamington's middle order as the pair removed Wigley, the dangerous Alam for 47, Hopkins and Magill in quick succession to leave Leamington in a spot of bother at 124-5. However, David Bailey and skipper Rob Williams set about rebuilding the innings in a vital stand of 81 to rescue to innings. Williams fell first for a well made 34 before Bailey went on to make a well-crafted 53 and his second 50 in two games. Leamington eventually closed the innings on 254 leaving Moseley an imposing 190 to win off 28 overs after the rain interruption earlier in the day. Amazingly, extras was the highest score in the Leamington innings, contributing a mammoth 55 runs to the total.

In reply, Moseley got off to the worst possible start as they were unable to handle Leamington's opening pair of Paul Rowe (1-24) and Tom Warner (2-34) bowled with great accuracy from the off. There were two wickets for Warner and one for Rowe in the first four overs of the innings as Moseley limped to 13-3. This brought the experienced pair of Huw Jones and Abdul Hafeez together as the pair did their best to get their team back in the match. The game was very much in the balance at 105-3 after some great work by the senior men, but the introduction of Alam firmly swung the the tie back in Leamington's favour as he removed Hafeez for 27 and then Jones for an excellent 67 off 56 balls. Alam then took two further wickets to finish with 4-17 off 4 overs. There were also two wickets for Faisal Khalid (2-23) as Moseley were bowled out for 142 with two overs remaining.

Leamington currently sit joint top of division 1 and travel to Smethwick this Saturday for another crucial match.

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
8nb 25w 13b 9lb 
for 10 wickets

(48.4 overs)
Shabaaz Alam lbw U Awan 47 70 54 9 1 87.04
Jack Bewick b T Watts 25 40 26 6 96.15
Jonathan Wigley lbw T Watts 5 24 12 41.67
David Bailey ct H Jones b F Eburah 53 120 86 4 1 61.63
Lee Hopkins lbw U Awan 0 8 7 0
Simon Magill lbw T Watts 10 16 21 1 47.62
Rob Williams ct F Eburah b A Hafeez 34 70 65 3 1 52.31 1
Paul Rowe ct I Yousaf b F Eburah 16 29 19 3 84.21 1
Neil Smith ct A Awan b A Hafeez 9 6 5 2 180.0 1
Tom Warner b F Eburah 0 2 2 0
Faisal Khalid Not Out  0 2 1 0

Moseley Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Recardo Gordon8.017500.009.38
Fred Eburah9.4052317.335.38
Tom Watts10.032337.672.30
Usman Awan10.0035217.503.50
Abdul Hafeez8.0037218.504.62
Matt Pickering3.001000.003.33

Moseley Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
14w 1b 10lb 
for 10 wickets
142 (26.0 overs)
Simon Chase ct R Williams b T Warner 4
Adam Taylor lbw P Rowe 1
Matt Pickering lbw T Warner 0
Huw Jones b S Alam 67
Abdul Hafeez b S Alam 27
Abdullah Awan lbw S Alam 0
Imran Yousaf ct N Smith b M Khalid 6
Usman Awan run out  (P Rowe) 1
Tom Watts b S Alam 10
Recardo Gordon b M Khalid 0
Fred Eburah Not Out  1

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul Rowe6.0024124.004.00
Tom Warner6.0034217.005.67
Neil Smith6.003300.005.50
Faisal Khalid4.0023211.505.75
Shabaaz Alam4.001744.254.25