Shrewsbury v Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 07 May 2016 at 12.00
Leamington Cricket Club Lost by 7 Wickets

Match report Leamington lost heavily to 2015 Birmingham Premier League champions Shrewsbury on Saturday, an untested batting line up team unable to cope with challenging bowling from the Shropshire side on what was acknowledged to be a sub-standard wicket.

Leamington have been hit hard as a crop of last season's First XI have left for 'pastures new', and the relative inexperience in the batting showed against a workmanlike side, benefiting from good bowling conditions.

Batting first Leamington lost two quick wickets before Aussie Max Webber and skipper Lee Hopkins steadied the ship a little taking the score to 36. A flurry of wickets put Shrewsbury on top and they never released their grip as Leamington were bowled out for a measly 87 in the 30th over. Two wickets apiece for Sam Griffiths and Adam King; three for Ed Foster and Brad Thornton.

The wicket had improved a little and faced with a modest target, Shrewsbury made a confident start. Tom Warner dismissed both openers, Will Parton and Ed Foster, and Ben Stebbings was leg before to the veteran Neil Smith. Shrewsbury eased to their target in the 20th over aided by a flurry of wides - an old failing of Leamington's bowlers throughout the club!

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
2nb 5w 3lb 
for 10 wickets

(29.1 overs)
Max Webber Caught  24
Jonathan Wigley Bowled  6
Jack Bewick Caught  0
Lee Hopkins Caught  18
Adeel Sajid Caught  0
Nicholas Couzens Lbw  0
Nathan Hooker Caught  16
Karan Patra Caught  3
Tom Warner Caught  9
Neil Smith Caught  1
Matthew Davison Not Out  0

Shrewsbury Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Shrewsbury Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 3 wickets
88 (19.2 overs)

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tom Warner6.0034217.005.67
Matthew Davison2.002700.0013.50
Max Webber3.00700.002.33
Jonathan Wigley4.01500.001.25
Neil Smith4.0011111.002.75
Karan Patra0.20400.0012.00