Ombersley v Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 27 Apr 2019 at 12.00
Leamington Cricket Club Won By 6wickets

Match report Leamington First team earned their second league win of the season with an ultimately comfortable win at Ombersley on Saturday. With skipper Jon Wigley sidelined because of a foot injury, Ollie Currill took over the captain's responsibilities and asked Ombersley to bat first on winning the toss. The Worcestershire club's pitch normally favours spin, but it was swing and seam to the fore on a bitterly cold day. Currill leading from the front struck three times early on after Joe Midgley had claimed the first wicket, and Ombersley were struggling at 24 for 4. The experienced Worcestershire pro Gareth Andrew tried to rescue the innings but in truth Spa never loosened their grip. Wickets fell at regular intervals and when Andrew was the ninth man dismissed for a painstaking 30 with the score on 91, it seemed that Ombersley would not reach three figures. However tailenders Jake Howl and Neil Slade had other ideas, before Matt Davison castled the former to earn the fine figures of 3 for 18. Currill took 3 for 27 as Leamington dismissed Ombersley for 122.

Leamington's response got off to the worst possible start with both Luke de Souza and Matt Payne falling to Andrew in the first over without getting off the mark. Harrison Smith became spinner Andrew's third wicket with the score on 21, but there was little threat from Ombersley's other bowlers. Waqar Ahmed and Will Mashinge built a steady, and eventually match-winning partnership. Their century partnership was only ended with the scores level, as Mashinge was caught by Andrew for 67. Ahmed was undefeated on 37 as Spa eased to a six-wicket win with 15 overs in hand. Spa welcome Oswestry next.

Ombersley Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
10nb 8w 1b 4lb 
for 10 wickets
122 (44.0 overs)
Liam Gwynne ct  Currill 3 6 50.0
Declan Lines lbw  Midgley 7 9 77.78
Joshua Dell lbw  Currill 4 6 66.67
Nicholas Hammond ct  Currill 4 14 28.57
Gareth Andrew ct  Derrick 30 100 30.0
Oliver Uffindall ct  Midgley 12 22 54.55
Ton Benham ct  Mashinge 4 21 19.05
Daniel Hagger lbw  Davison 7 9 77.78
Arti Fiaz lbw  Davison 0 1 0
Jake Howl b  Davison 12 43 27.91
Neil Slade Not Out  16 37 43.24

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ollie Currill10.012739.002.70
Joe Midgley7.021527.502.14
William Mashinge10.0239139.003.90
Matthew Davison8.031836.002.25
Perry Derrick5.0011111.002.20
Nabeel Asghar4.01700.001.75

Leamington Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
4w 2lb 
for 4 wickets

(34.1 overs)
Luke De Souza lbw  Andrew 0 4 0
Harrison Smith b  Andrew 12 20 2 60.0
Matt Payne b  Andrew 0 1 0
Waqar Ahmed Not Out  37 104 2 35.58 1
William Mashinge ct  Fiaz 67 75 9 89.33
Ollie Currill Not Out  1 1 100 1
Chris Calcott   2
Nabeel Asghar  
Matthew Davison  
Perry Derrick   1
Joe Midgley  

Ombersley Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
G Andrew10.0432310.673.20
J Howl3.002000.006.67
O Uffindall8.012100.002.63
A Fiaz9.0038138.004.22
N Slade4.111000.002.40